Skip to Content

Demon Slayer Corps Ranks in Order

Demon Slayer Corps Ranks in Order

The Demon Slayer Corps is an organization that has existed since ancient times, dedicated to protecting humanity from demons.

Anyone can join the Demon Slayer Corps. However, they must first complete the Final Selection, an entrance exam wherein contestants must survive for seven days on a mountain infested by demons with no help from the outside world.

Candidates who pass the Final Selection are declared official members of the Demon Slayers Corps and assigned to the lowest rank of ten: Mizunoto.

They must complete various missions to climb the ranks and reach the highest.

Demon Slayer Corps Ranks in Order

Demon Slayer Corps Ranking

Members of the Demon Slayer Corps are divided into ten different ranks. From lowest rank to highest, these ranks are Mizunoto, Mizunoe, Kanoto, Kanoe, Tsuchinoto, Tsuchinoe, Hinoto, Hinoe, Kinoto, and Kinoe.

10. Mizunoto
9. Mizunoe
8. Kanoto
7. Kanoe
6. Tsuchinoto
5. Tsuchinoe
4. Hinoto
3. Hinoe
2. Kinoto
1. Kinoe

Read more: What are the MBTI Types of the Demon Slayer Characters? (Myers-Briggs)

10. Mizunoto

The Mizunoto is the lowest rank in the Demon Slayer Corps. This rank is assigned to entry-level demon slayers (New organization members).

They must complete various missions to ultimately climb the ranks and reach the highest Demon Slayer Rank: Kinoe.

Little is known about the other ranks in Demon Slayer Corps. Even the promotion does not follow a set pattern.

All we know is that demon slayers start at Mizunoto and work their way up to Kinoe, who eventually qualifies to become an Hashira.

1. Kinoe

Kinoe is considered the highest rank in the Demon Slayer Corps. However, there is still a rank above it known as the Hashira.

This squad comprises the organization’s most elite combatants, second only to the organization’s leader.

In order to become eligible to join the Hashira, a Demon Slayer must either successfully kill 50 demons or be a member of the Twelve Kizuki as a Kinoe.

The Hashiras are incredibly powerful and get paid as much as they want.

Demon Slayer Corps Ranks Character Table

Sakonji UrokodakiFormer Water Hashira
Jigoro KuwajimaFormer Thunder Hashira
Shinjuro RengokuFormer Flame Hashira
Tengen UzuiSound Hashira
Kanae KochoFlower Hashira
Kyojuro RengokuFlame Hashira
Giyu TomiokaWater Hashira
Mitsuri KanrojiLove Hashira
Obanai IguroSerpent Hashira
Sanemi ShinazugawaWind Hashira
Gyomei HimejimaStone Hashira
Muichiro TokitoMist Hashira
Shinobu KochoInsect Hashira
Zenitsu AgatsumaKanoe
Inosuke HashibiraKanoe
Tanjiro KamadoKanoe
Kanao TsuyuriTsuchinoto

What is Tanjiro’s Rank?

Tanjiro Kamado

Tanjiro has risen to the level of Kanoe, the fourth rank from the bottom, along with Inosuke and Zenitsu. They were promoted as a result of their time demon-hunting with Rengoku on the Mugen Train and completing the final selection exam.

Tanjiro had no idea he was rising up the ranks, as he believed he was still a Mizunto until Inosuke demonstrated how to check their rank using the Wisteria Flower Engraving technique.

This technique displays the rank of a demon slayer upon saying the password and flexing their arm.

Does Tanjiro Become an Hashira (Spoiler!)

Tanjiro never became an Hashira despite having Hashira-level powers and completing the Hashira training.

This is because the ultimate battle with Muzan had already begun by the time he was strong enough to become an Hashira.

Moreover, The Demon Slayer Corps was disbanded after defeating Muzan, as they have no reason to exist anymore.

How Does a Demon Slayer Rank Up?

The demon slayers rank up by completing various missions and honing their skills.

Upon reaching the highest rank, Kinoe, the demon slayer, can now look forward to becoming an Hashira, the organization’s most elite combatant and second only to the leader.