Skip to Content

Jujutsu Kaisen Grade Ranking System Explained and Character Ranks

Jujutsu Kaisen Grade Ranking System Explained and Character Ranks

Cursed Energy is everything in the world of Jujutsu Kaisen.

This energy is a form of power that manifests from humans’ negative emotions, which gives rise to cursed spirits, and sorcerers.

Sorcerers are individuals trained to protect humanity from cursed spirits.

They are usually ranked into “Grades” to evaluate their strength and the kind of cursed spirits they battle.

Here is an overview of the Jujutsu Grade Ranking System.

Jujutsu Kaisen Grade Ranking System Explained

Jujutsu Kaisen Grade Ranking System

Unlike other shonen shows that use a simple power scaling system, JJK is somewhat complex and inconsistent.

The Grade ranking system evaluates everything made up of cursed energy, from the sorcerer’s strength to cursed spirits and objects.

The Grade ranking system consists of four numbered ranks, ranging from grade 1 through 4, each with a different set of intermediate levels, and there’s the special grade.

Here is a list of the ranks from lowest to highest.

Jujutsu Kaisen Ranks in Order

7. Grade 4 (Lowest)
6. Grade 3
5. Grade 2
4. Semi-Grade 1
3. Grade 1
2. Special Grade 1
1. Special Grade (Highest)

Grade 4

This is the lowest rank in the series, assigned to entry-level unskilled sorcerers and extremely weak curses.

There isn’t many grade 4 sorcerers and curses in existence.

The only known grade 4 sorcerer is Maki Zenin, who is stronger than an average grade 4 sorcerer but isn’t allowed to advance because of her family’s influence.

If traditional weapons were employed against curses and their lethality was gauged, all it takes to destroy a grade 4 curse is a wooden bat – that’s how weak these curses are.

Grade 3

Grade 3 is assigned to average-ranked curses that can be defeated by average sorcerers (students).

sorcerers in this rank are not allowed to go on solo missions and are mostly, if not always, escorted by a sorcerer of higher rank.

If traditional weapons were employed against curses and their lethality was gauged, all it takes to destroy a grade 3 curse is a pistol.

Grade 2

This rank is assigned to above-average ranked curses and sorcerers.

Sorcerers in this category are known to be strong and are privileged to go on solo missions.

Grade 4 and 3 sorcerers don’t dare to take on a grade 2 curse since it is way out of their league – They can only fight curses their rank or lower.  

If traditional weapons were employed against curses and their lethality was gauged, all it takes to destroy a grade 3 curse is a shotgun.

Semi-Grade 1

Semi-Grade 1 rank is usually assigned to sorcerers seeking promotion to grade 1.

The candidates are assigned this rank after accompanying a higher rank sorcerer on several missions.

They are then assigned a mission to exorcise a Grade 1 curse alone to be promoted to a Grade 1 sorcerer.

Grade 1

Since Special Grade is somewhat controversial, Grade 1 is considered the highest level a sorcerer can aspire to through the regular advancement of ranks.

Grade 1 sorcerer serves as a mentor to other lower rank sorcerers and can easily take down grade 1-4 curses and, sometimes, special curses.

Special Grade 1

Special grade 1 sorcerers are top-tier members of the sorcerer community with incredibly powerful skills and experience.

This rank is assigned to elite members of the Zenin clan, a renowned household name in the jujutsu faction.

Special Grade

The Special grade is the highest rank in Jujutsu Kaisen. It is assigned to sorcerers and curses who possess an immense level of curse energy.

Only four sorcerers in all of Japan hold this rank: Suguru Geto, Yuki Tsukumo, Yuta Okkotsu, and Satoru Gojo.

Even if you are unaware of the extent of these other characters’ strengths, we’re sure you’re well familiar with Gojo.

Jujutsu Kaisen Character Rank Table

Itadori YuujiN/A
Maki ZeninGrade 4
Nobara KugisakiGrade 3
Mai ZeninGrade 3
Kasumi MiwaGrade 3
Takuma InoGrade 2
Megumi FushiguroGrade 2
PandaGrade 2
Momo NishimiyaGrade 2
Toge InumakiSemi Grade 1
Noritoshi KamoSemi Grade 1
Kokichi MutaSemi Grade 1
Utahime LoriSemi Grade 1
Kento NanamiGrade 1
Mei MeiGrade 1
Aoi TodoGrade 1
Atsuya KusakabeGrade 1
Masamichi YagaGrade 1
Naobito ZeninSpecial Grade 1
Naoya ZeninSpecial Grade 1
Jinichi ZeninSpecial Grade 1
Ogi ZeninSpecial Grade 1
Suguru GetoSpecial Grade
Yuki TsukumoSpecial Grade
Yuta OkkotsuSpecial Grade
Satoru GojoSpecial Grade

What Is Itadori’s Rank?

Itadori’s rank isn’t explicitly stated in the series. However, fans speculate he’s worth being between grade 2 and semi-grade due to his strength and constant development.

How Does the Ranking Work in Jujutsu Kaisen?

Jujutsu sorcerers can advance in rank by receiving recommendations from sorcerers of higher rank.

This request is sent off to the higher-ups for review. Upon approval, the sorcerers are then officially promoted.

Although this only applies to grade two promotion and below.

For grade one promotions and above, a sorcerer needs two or more recommendations from sorcerers of a higher rank who aren’t their teachers.

After this happens, the nominee will then accompany a sorcerer of that level (who isn’t the person that recommended them) on several missions.

If the candidate does well on these missions, they will be promoted to Semi-Grade 1 and given a mission to exorcise a Grade 1 alone.

The decision to grant or refuse Grade 1 rank promotion will be made in light of the result of the mission.

Who Is the Strongest Sorcerer in Jujutsu Kaisen?

Satoru Gojo is the strongest sorcerer in jujutsu kaisen.

Not only is he the strongest sorcerer, but it’s safe to say he’s also the strongest character in the entire series, rivaled only by Sukuna.

Gojo comes from one of the three elite jujutsu families, and he’s the first person to inherit both the Six Eyes and the Limitless cursed technique in the past hundred years.

While his abilities have not yet been fully explored, Gojo has demonstrated extraordinary competence against Special Grade Curses and advanced mastery over his Technique.

He is basically a god with his domain expansion, Unlimited Void, that allows him to manipulate time and space.

Is Gojo Stronger Than Sukuna?

Gojo vs Sukuna

We haven’t yet seen either of them at their full potential, so we can’t tell with certainty who is stronger.

We doubt that Gojo, who defeated one-finger Sukuna in the first half of the series, will be able to accomplish the same if he battles Sukuna at his full strength with all twenty fingers intact.

While the showdown is inevitable, we can only patiently wait for Gege Akutami to decide when it’s appropriate to have the two legends square off.

Currently, Gojo appears to be the only person with a chance of defeating Sukuna; otherwise, we’re not sure who can.

Why Does Gojo Cover His Eyes?

Gojo's eyes

Gojo cover’s his eyes to limit the power of the six eyes technique (Rikugan) as they put a strain on him from overuse.

The six eyes is a rare ocular technique that grants the user extraordinary perception to view cursed energy and perfectly control the complex abilities of the Limitless down to atomic level.

However, this powerful technique strains its user after overuse, leaving Gojo with no choice but to wear a blindfold to tone down the intensity.

Read more: