Skip to Content

What’s the Max Level in Skyrim? (With List of Trainers)

What’s the Max Level in Skyrim? (With List of Trainers)

The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim has the Dragonborn facing countless enemies during its adventures, from undead Draugr to the fearsome dragons and everything in between. Players will gain experience and level up as they use their skills, unlocking new enemies and powerful gear along the way.

But what’s the maximum level you can achieve in Skyrim?

Since the addition of Legendary skills, players can now level up indefinitely in Skyrim. However, if you plan to unlock every single perk available for your character, you’ll need to restart any skill tree 164 times, achievable by reaching level 252.

Skyrim Character Skill Tree

How Does Leveling Up Work in Skyrim?

In Skyrim, there are two leveling systems that cooperate with each other. Players will obtain character experience by leveling up their skills, either by training, reading skill books, or performing the actions associated with the skill.

Once the skill levels up, the Dragonborn receives a determined amount of character experience. This is the only way available to level up in Skyrim. 

When leveling up, two things happen:

  • Increase your Health, Magicka, or Stamina by 10 points. 
  • Unlock one perk point per level gained. 

If you have several levels before accessing the perk skill screen, you must choose the attributes in succession. However, you don’t need to spend your perk points, meaning that you can accumulate them and spend them another time.

The player can reset the perks with the Dragonborn DLC once they’ve completed the main questline from this expansion. You can clear all perks from one skill tree in exchange for a single dragon soul.

This process can be repeated as long as you have dragon souls available.

Skyrim Skill Level Up Prompt

What’s the Max Level in Skyrim?

Skyrim only allowed the player to reach level 81 before the 1.9 patch since there was no skill reset to allow further leveling. Nowadays, with the Legendary skills, players can in theory continue leveling up indefinitely.

Can I Unlock All the Perks Available in Skyrim?

There are 251 perks available that are distributed into 18 skills.

Since leveling up in Skyrim will require more XP as you increase your character’s level, you will need to reach level 252 to go through enough mastering cycles for unlocking all perks available.

Leveling up a skill from level 15 to 100 will grant 4,930 XP. This means that you’ll have to go through 164 skill mastering cycles.

Does Skyrim Gets More Difficult as You Level Up?

Skyrim has a scaling mechanic that makes the game more difficult as the player levels up.

The Dragonborn’s level will affect the enemy variation that appears within an area, each with fixed levels associated with them.

Items in containers and quest rewards scale their quality and effectiveness as the player levels up.

Dungeons also have a level range. If you enter the area without meeting the level requirement, you will always face the lowest level tier set for that dungeon.

What Happens When You Reach Level 81 in Skyrim?

Before the 1.8 patch, players could only reach level 81 since the Legendary perks system wasn’t available. Nowadays, the Dragonborn can reset their skill trees to level 15, meaning that they can continue gaining experience as long as they reach level 100 in any skill.

In the Dragonborn DLC, when reaching level 80 you unlock the Ebony Warrior encounter. This character will approach the Dragonborn in any of the main cities in Skyrim. 

When interacting with the player, he will explain that his last challenge is to face the Dragonborn after defeating all previous foes and enemies because his wish is to enter Sovngarde with his death.

He will then prompt the player to meet him for a fight to the death at a campsite located in the Velothi Mountains.

Ebony Warrior Skyrim

Who Can Train Me in Skyrim?

There are NPCs located all around Skyrim that can train the Dragonborn in a specific skill immediately by paying them gold. You can train each skill up to five times per level, regardless of the trainer you use.

Some trainers are unlocked once you become a member of specific factions or after completing quests.

Common trainers will provide lessons until you reach level 50 in that skill, while Expert trainers can reach skill level 75 and Master trainers will help you until level 90.

The player must earn the remaining 10 points to reach 100 by reading skill books, obtaining quest rewards, or using the skill.

Trainers for The Thief Class Archetype

Alchemya. Lami (Common)
b. Arcadia (Expert)
c. Milore Ienth (Expert)
d. Babette (Master)
a. Morthal
b. Arcadia’s Cauldron, Whiterun
c. Raven Rock
d. The Dark Brotherhood Sanctuary
Light Armora. Scouts-Many-Marshes (Common)
b. Grelka (Expert)
c. Nazir (Master)
a. Windhelm
b. Riften
c. Dark Brotherhood Sanctuary
Lockpickinga. Ma’jhad (Expert)
b. Vex (Master)
a. Ma’dran’s Khajit Caravan, Solitude or Windhelm
b. Ragged Flagon
Pickpocketinga. Silda the Unseen (Expert)
b. Vipir the Fleet (Master)
a. Windhelm
b. Thieves Guild
Sneaka. Khayla (Common)
b. Garvey (Expert)
c. Delvin Mallory (Master)
a. Ri’saad’s Khajit Caravan, Whiterun or Markarth
b. Markarth
c. Thieves Guild
Speecha. Dro’marash (Common)
b. Revyn Sadri (Common)
c. Ogmund the Skald (Expert)
d. Ronthil (Expert)
e. Giraud Gemane (Master)
a. Ahkari’s Khajit Caravan
b. Sadri’s Used Wares, Windhelm
c. Markarth
d. Volkihar Keep
e. Bards College, Solitude

Trainers for The Warrior Class Archetype

Archerya. Faendal (Common)
b. Aela the Huntress (Expert)
c. Niruin (Master)
d. Sorine Jurard (Master)
a. Riverwood
b. Jorrvaskr, Whiterun
c. Thieves Guild
d. Fort Dawnguard
Blocka. Njada Stonearm (Expert)
b. Chief Larak (Master)
a. Jorrvaskr, Whiterun
b. Mor Khazgur Stronghold
Heavy Armora. Gharol (Expert)
b. Farkas (Master)
c. Isran (Master)
d. Kuvar (Master)
a. Dushnikh Yal Stronghold
b. Jorrvaskr, Whiterun
c. Fort Dawnguard
d. Bujold’s Retreat or Thirsk Mead Hall, Solstheim
One-Handeda. Amren (Common)
b. Athis (Expert)
c. Burguk (Master)
a. Whiterun
b. Jorrvaskr, Whiterun
c. Dushnikh Yal
Smithinga. Ghorza (Common)
b. Balimund (Expert)
c. Eorlund Gray-Mane (Master)
d. Gunmar (Master)
a. Markarth
b. Riften
c. Skyforge, Whiterun
d. Fort Dawnguard
Two-Handeda. Torbjorn Shatter-Shield (Expert)
b. Fura Bloodmouth (Master)
c. Vilkas (Master)
d. Wulf Wild-Blood (Master)
a. Windhelm
b. Volkihar Keep
c. Jorrvaskr, Whiterun
d. Skaal Village, Solstheim

Trainers for The Mage Class Archetype

Alterationa. Dravynea the Stoneweaver (Expert)
b. Tolfdir (Master)
a. Kynesgrove
b. College of Winterhold
Conjurationa. Runil (Common)
b. Phinis Gestor (Expert)
c. Falion (Master)
d. Talvas Fathryon (Master)
a. Falkreath
b. College of Winterhold
c. Morthal
d. Tel Mithryin, Solstheim
Destructiona. Wuunferth the Unliving (Common)
b. Sybille Stentor (Expert)
c. Faralda (Master)
a. Palace of the Kings, Windhelm
b. Blue Palace, Solitude
c. College of Winterhold
Enchantinga. Sergius Turrianus (Expert)
b. Hamal (Master)
c. Neloth (Master)
a. College of Winterhold
b. Markarth
c. Tel Mithryn, Solstheim
Illusiona. Atub (Expert)
b. Drevis Neloren (Master)
a. Largashbur Stronghold
b. College of Winterhold
Restorationa. Aphia Velothi (Common)
b. Colette Marence (Expert)
c. Keeper Carcette (Expert)
d. Danica Pure-Spring (Master)
e. Florentius Baenius (Master)
a. Raven Rock, Solstheim
b. College of Winterhold
c. Hall of the Vigilant, The Pale
d. Temple of Kynareth, Whiterun
e. Fort Dawnguard
Skill Trainer in Skyrim

See more:


Monday 4th of September 2023

Very very helpful, thank you so much, may the Gold line your pockets😃🤓🙃😄


Monday 1st of August 2022

Where are Sneak masters?

Paulina Rodriguez

Monday 1st of August 2022

Hi! I completely forgot to add them. The Thief table has been updated with Sneak masters. Thank you for letting me know!